Sat. May 18th, 2024

Steve Smith was stunned after an unusual LBW decision in the Cricket World Cup 2023 match between Australia and South Africa. The incident occurred when Kagiso Rabada’s delivery struck Smith on the pads, appearing to miss the leg stump. However, South Africa opted for a DRS review, which revealed that the ball was indeed hitting the stumps. The ball tracker showed the end result directly, causing confusion and dissatisfaction for Smith and the on-field umpire. South Africa went on to secure a 134-run victory over Australia, with Quinton de Kock hitting his second consecutive century in the tournament. Australia struggled in their chase, losing wickets early on and eventually being dismissed for 177. South Africa celebrated their second win of the tournament, while Australia suffered their second consecutive defeat. South Africa captain Temba Bavuma praised his team’s performance, while Australia captain Pat Cummins acknowledged that his team was far from their best. Australia also faced difficulties in the field, with five dropped catches during South Africa’s innings.

By admin